- Up to 6 Kids go free

- Free Parking at English Heritage

- Receive our Handbook

- Unlimited access to over 400 days out



Adults: £11.30
Children 5-17 Years: £6.80
Families (2 adults, up to 3 Children): £29.40
Families (1 adult, up to 3 Children): £18.10


Visiting Framlingham Castle

Framlingham Castle is a motte and bailey castle constructed around 1213, and situated in the county of Suffolk, England. Despite its age, much of the castle’s exterior remains beautifully preserved. Today, the castle is managed by English Heritage, and visitors can book a ticket to explore the site.


There is a car park on-site, though it is located approximately 300 metres (984 ft) from the castle entrance. Parking for English Heritage members is free, but a £3.00 flat-fee applies to non-members. There is enough space to accommodate 30 vehicles on the gravel drive.

Additional parking is located throughout the town of Framlingham. Parking charges do apply to members and non-members, as these car parks are not managed by English Heritage.

A few Pay and Display car parks in the area include:

  • Market Hill Pay and Display - This car park is located about a 5-minute walk from the castle via Church Street. Visitors may stay a maximum of two hours for £1.00.

  • Fore Street Pay and Display - Using Riverside, visitors can reach the castle on foot from this car park in about 8-minutes. Parking costs £1.00 for two hours or £2.00 for four hours.

  • The Elms Pay and Display - Only an 8-minute walk to Framlingham Castle from Bridge Street, this car park costs £1.00 for two hours or £2.00 for four hours.



Admission prices for Framlingham Castle vary depending on the season, date, and whether you’re participating in a special event. For exact ticket prices, check the date of your visit on the Framlingham Castle Prices & Opening Times on the English Heritage website.

Tickets purchased online in advance (up to 8:45 a.m. on the date of your visit) you will receive a 10 percent discount. Tickets purchased on-site are not eligible for this discount.

To get an idea of ticket prices, the table below includes admission costs (based on the type of ticket) for a standard date in June (with the advance-booking discount included):

Framlingham Castle Ticket Prices - June - Standard

Ticket Type

With Donation

Without Donation







Child (5-17 Years)



Student (with Valid ID)



Family (2 Adults, Up to 3 Children)



Family (1 Adult, Up to 3 Children)



Senior (65+)





Framlingham Castle is open daily from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m., though hours may vary depending on the season, holidays, and whether events are occurring on-site. For exact opening and closing times, see the English Heritage website for Framlingham Castle.

The site is busiest between 11 a.m. and 2 p.m. on weekends, bank holidays, and throughout the summer months. To avoid the crowd, opt to visit on a weekday before 11 a.m. or after 2 p.m.

Location and Access

The physical address of Framlingham Castle is:

Church Street



IP13 9BP

Visitors arriving by vehicle should use the B1116 to Framlingham. 

To access Framlingham Castle by bus, use First Norfolk & Suffolk (63) or Ipswich Buses (118).

Train access is available via Wickham Market Station, approximately 10.5 kilometres (6.5 mi) from the castle. After exiting the terminal, visitors can use “Katch,” a public electric transportation service that stops at Framlingham Castle.

Know Before You Go

  • Framlingham Castle has an on-site café. The facility is located inside the Poorhouse in the Inner Court. Various hot and cold dishes are available, including soups, sandwiches, light snacks, and cakes. Many dietary needs may be accommodated, including vegetarian, vegan, gluten-free, and dairy-free. The café closes 30 minutes before Framlingham Castle’s closing time.


  • Souvenirs are available for purchase. Also located in the Poorhouse is the English Heritage gift shop. Various themed-souvenirs are available, as well as other goods, including wine, jams, beers, candy, snacks, toys, and games.

  • There are plenty of child-friendly activities available. The castle exhibition boasts a dress-up area and interactive displays appropriate for kids. On the castle grounds, there are open, grassy areas where children can run, fly kites, or roll down the hill. Garden games are also available in the gift shop.


  • Canines on leads, including assistance dogs, are permitted on-site. Dogs are also welcome in the café, though they are not permitted on the café counter.


  • Toilet facilities are located in the car park. The car park sits approximately 300 metres (984 ft) from the castle entrance, so guests are encouraged to use the bathroom facilities before entering the castle grounds. Baby-changing facilities and an accessible toilet are also available within the car park bathrooms.

  • Visitors receive a free interactive audio tour. With the price of admission, you’ll receive access to the Framlingham Castle audio tour. This tour is kid-friendly and provides information about the castle site and its history.


  • Some of the areas are handicap accessible. Wheelchair access to the exhibition is available via a platform lift. However, access to the wall walk requires walking steep stairs.

  • Ruinous grounds may present hazards. Framlingham Castle is a historic site, so visitors may come across several tripping risks. There is signage posted throughout the site, warning visitors of sheer drops. Loose gravel is located on the grounds, and some areas may be uneven. Grass and stone may become slippery when wet.

Framlingham Castle Events

English Heritage hosts numerous events each year at Framlingham Castle. Past events have included knight tournaments, falconry presentations, ghost tales and tours, and holiday events.

Throughout the summer months, weekly workshops are held for children. These workshops include activities, such as archery, storytelling, and knight etiquette, among others.

For a list of current and upcoming events, check out the Framlingham Castle events page on the English Heritage website.

Places To Stay Nearby

Colston Hall Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast

6.6 km (4.1 mi) north

Get whisked back in time in this 16th-century farmhouse where you can enjoy a rural vibe, tranquil lake views, and a quiet location that’s also conveniently located to many nearby attractions. Each cosy room offers free WiFi, a television, a private bathroom, and tea and coffee facilities. A full English breakfast is served on-site every morning. Colston Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast is only a 10-minute drive from Framlingham Castle.


Travelodge Ipswich Beacon Hill

25.8 km (16 mi) southwest

This affordable accommodation is located along the A14 in the magnificent English countryside. Nearby cities, including Needham Market and Ipswich, boast plenty of shopping and restaurant facilities, and the River Gipping is only a stone’s throw away. Each room includes tea and coffee makers, a television, a desk, and a private bathroom with a shower. Framlingham Castle is only a 29-minute drive from this hotel.


Premier Inn Ipswich North 

30.9 km (19.2 mi) southwest

Ipswich North is a budget hotel, but it offers various amenities to make your stay as comfortable as possible. It’s situated in the quiet Suffolk countryside and bookings include free parking and access to the on-site restaurant. Standard, twin, family, and accessible rooms are available, each including free WiFi, a bathroom with a shower, a vanity, a hairdryer, and tea and coffee facilities. Framlingham Castle is located about 31 minutes away.


History of Framlingham Castle 

Framlingham Castle is the site of a 13th-century castle, though it once served as the site of a 12th-century fortress. The site has a rich history involving many prominent figures, including the Howard family, Margaret Brotherton (Duchess of Norfolk) and Mary Tudor (the first Queen of England).

Time Line

- 1100s (First Castle Built)

A motte and bailey castle was erected on the site, though the actual date of construction is unknown. The castle may have been built by Roger Bigod or Hugh Bigod. There are even  suggestions that there may have been two castles on the site, with one being demolished to make way for a bigger fortress.

- 1157 (Castle Confiscated)

When Hugh Bigod took part in the Anarchy in opposition to King Stephen, the Crown was displeased. When King Henry II took the throne, he wanted to showcase his power and influence, so he confiscated all castles owned by Hugh, including Framlingham.

- 1165 (Castle Returned)

After negotiations, King Henry II granted ownership of Framlingham Castle back to Bigod — but only after he paid fees to the Crown totalling £666.

- Late 1160s (First Stone Buildings)

Hugh Bigod began construction of the first masonry buildings within the castle.

- 1173-1174 (Castle Slighted)

Hugh Bigod once again fell out of royal favour after he participated in the uprising led by King Henry II’s own sons. However, Henry II remained in power after the revolt failed. Once again betrayed by Bigod, Henry II ordered Framlingham Castle to be slighted. The buildings were destroyed and the moat was filled in.

- 1189 (Roger Bigod Takes Over)

After the betrayals by Hugh Bigod, King Henry II also felt suspicious of Hugh’s son, Roger. So, when Roger Bigod laid claim to his father’s estates (and the earldom), King Henry II wouldn’t allow it. However, King Henry’s reign eventually ended, and King Richard I took control. He happened to like Roger Bigod, so he granted him the castle and Roger Bigod began building a new castle on the site.

- 1213 (Castle Finished)

Roger Bigod didn’t officially finish Framlingham Castle until the beginning of the 13th century. Once it was completed, it contained a large curtain wall, thirteen towers, a lower court with additional walls and towers, and a bailey.

- 1215-1216 (Castle Seized)

Like his father before him, Roger Bigod would also go on to betray the Crown. He participated in The First Barons’ War in opposition to King John. As a result, King John sent troops and his army to Framlingham. The garrison surrendered without a fight and King John took the castle.

- 1217-1224 (Roger Regains Castle)

Some time after King John seized Framlingham Castle, the castle fell back into the hands of the Bigod family, though the exact circumstances are uncertain.

- 1225 (Roger’s Grandson Inherits)

Roger Bigod passed Framlingham Castle down to his grandson, also named Roger.

- 1270 (Park Built)

The Great Park was established around Framlingham Castle. It was around this time that Roger Bigod, 5th Earl, inherited the castle and completed major renovations.

- Late 13th Century (Castle Willed to the Crown)

By the 13th century, the Bigod family was indebted to multiple people, including the Jewish community, Italian merchants, and King Edward I. As such, when King Edward I suggested raising taxes and additional funds to support his wars, Roger led the opposition against him. In retaliation, King Edward I took Roger’s estates. However, he later returned them after Roger agreed to will the estates to the Crown upon his death.

- 1306 (Castle Passes to the Crown)

Roger Bigod, 5th Earl, made good on his word. The castle was passed to the Crown after Bigod’s death in 1306.

- 1312 (New Ownership)

During Edward II’s reign, he gave Framlingham Castle to Thomas of Brotherton, Earl of Norfolk. After Thomas took ownership, he commissioned the building of a bakery and horse mill.

- 1338 (Castle Passes to Mary de Brewes)

Thomas of Brotherton died young, only 38-years-old. His widow, Mary de Brewes took ownership of Framlingham Castle upon his death.

- 1362 (Castle Passed to the Ufford Family)

After Mary de Brewes died, the Ufford family took control of Framlingham Castle.

- 1381 (William de Ufford Holds The Castle)

When the Peasants’ Revolt of 1381 broke out around the town of Framlingham, William de Ufford occupied the castle. He held it successfully.

- 15th Century (The Mowbrays)

Around the 15th century, Thomas de Mowbray took ownership of the castle. Framlingham Castle remained in the Mowbrays’ family for much of the century.

- 1476 (Castle Improvements)

John Howard, Duke of Norfolk, took ownership of the castle at the end of the 15th century. During this time, the castle underwent multiple improvements. Elaborate brickwork was completed and chimneys were added. The Great Chamber was also built at this time.

- 1485 (Thomas Forfeits the Castle)

Thomas Howard, 2nd Duke of Norfolk, took ownership of the castle. However, when Thomas’s father, a Yorkist supporter, was killed by Henry VII during the Wars of the Roses, Thomas was arrested. He forfeited his title as Duke, Framlingham Castle, and all additional estates before being imprisoned. King Henry VII then transferred ownership of Framlingham Castle to John de Vere.

- 1513 (Thomas Regains the Castle)

To win back favour from the Crown, Thomas Howard fought at Flodden. King Henry VIII, grateful for his service, gave Framlingham Castle back to the Howards. During this time, the castle was elaborately decorated.

- 1524-1547 (Bloody Mary Takes Over)

Thomas Howard, 3rd Duke of Norfolk, took possession of Framlingham. However, rumours spread that the Howard family was attempting to take the throne. As such, King Henry VIII imprisoned Thomas and sentenced him to die, but the king died before he was executed. When Edward VI became king, he kept Thomas imprisoned and granted the castle to his half-sister, Mary Tudor.

- 1553 (Thomas Howard, 3rd Duke is Released)

Upon Edward VI’s death, Mary Tudor contested the Queendom of Lady Jane Grey, believing she was the rightful heir to the throne. She was proclaimed queen in the town of Framlingham, though she wouldn’t officially take over until later. During her time at Framlingham, she released Thomas Howard from prison. However, he did not return to Framlingham, and chose to lease the castle. It began to deteriorate rapidly.

- 1572 (Thomas Howard, 4th Duke is Executed)

Queen Elizabeth I wasn’t fond of Thomas Howard, 4th Duke of Norfolk, and after his betrayal, she had him executed for treason. After his death, the castle passed back to the Crown.

- 1580 (Castle Used as a Prison)

At the end of the 16th century, Framlingham Castle was first used to imprison various persons, including religious priests.

- 1613 (Castle Returned)

When King James I came into power, he returned the castle to the Howard family, specifically Thomas Howard, Earl of Suffolk. However, the castle was in extreme disrepair and needed a multitude of renovations, so Thomas Howard didn’t reside at Framlingham.

- 1635 (Castle Sold)

Framlingham Castle was granted to Thomas’s son, Theophilus Howard. However, Theophilus was in extreme debt, so he sold the castle and the surrounding land to Sir Robert Hitcham. Hitcham would take the land of the Great Park and divide it into multiple estates.

- 1636 (Castle Granted to Pembroke College)

Hitcham died only a year after purchasing the castle. Upon his death, the castle was willed to his university, Pembroke College, with the promise that they would demolish all of the current interior buildings to create a poorhouse, or workhouse, on the grounds to help the unfortunate.

- 1650s (Work on Workhouse)

The college made good on its word and demolished the interior buildings and began construction on the workhouse. The workhouse was a failure, so it was later closed and utilised as a public house.

- 1666 (Plague)

Framlingham Castle was used as an isolation ward during the outbreak of plague. In the aftermath, England had lost nearly two-million people to the disease. Another workshop was built 30 years later, though it, too, failed.

- 1839 (Final Poorhouse)

After three attempts, the final poorhouse was erected within the inner court in 1729. It was officially closed 110 years later.

- 1913 (Guardianship)

Pembroke College placed Framlingham Castle under the guardianship of the Commissioner of Works. The Commissioner of Works performed maintenance on the site.

- WWII (War Defence)

During World War II, the British used Framlingham Castle as a defensive structure.  A concrete dug-in guardpost (also known as a pill box) was built, corrugated iron barracks (Nissen huts) were set up, and a lorry park was established.

- Present

Today, Framlingham Castle is in the care of English Heritage. The Lanman Museum is situated within the old workhouse.

Framlingham Castle Occupants

  • 1100s: Roger Bigod was given the lands of Framlingham. It is believed that he may have built the first castle on the site.
  • 1160s: Hugh Bigod, Roger Bigod’s son, took control of the land and the castle.
  • 1157: King Henry II took control of the castle, but returned it to the Bigod family 16 years later to another Roger.
  • 1213: King John visited Framlingham Castle where he was entertained by Roger Bigod. He would later take over the castle after Bigod’s betrayal, though it would ultimately end up back in the hands of the Bigod family.
  • 1225: Roger’s grandson, also named Roger, inherited the castle.
  • 1270: Roger Bigod, 5th Earl, takes over Framlingham. He lavishly decorates the castle.
  • 1306: King Edward II takes over after Roger Bigod’s death. He granted the castle to Thomas of Brotherton, Earl of Norfolk.
  • 1300s: Margaret, the daughter of Thomas Brotherton, takes over upon his death.
  • 1399: Margaret’s grandson, Thomas Mowbray, Duke of Norfolk, inherits Framlingham. 
  • 1338: Mowbray’s widow, Mary de Brewes, takes the castle.
  • 1362: William de Ufford, 2nd Earl of Suffolk, inherits the castle upon Mary’s death.
  • 1476: The Howard family inherits the castle, beginning with John Howard, Duke of Norfolk.
  • 1480s: Thomas Howard, 2nd Duke of Norfolk, takes ownership. However, shortly after, it was taken by King Henry VII and given to John de Vere, though the Howards would later reclaim the estate.
  • 1547: Mary Tudor becomes owner of Framlingham Castle. She would give the castle back to the Howards.
  • 1553: The castle was given to the 4th Duke, another Thomas Howard.
  • 1580: Various prisoners occupied the castle, including Roman Catholic priests and anyone who wouldn’t comply with religious rule.
  • 1635: Sir Robert Hitcham purchases the castle.
  • 1666: People suffering from the Plague were housed on the grounds of Framlingham Castle to prevent the further spread of the catastrophic illness.

Framlingham Castle Architecture

General Layout

Framlingham Castle gives the impression of power, as it sits atop a large hill that overlooks the River Ore. It has a massive curtain wall, a bailey, an inner court, a lower court, and multiple towers along the curtain wall. The castle was once surrounded by a large wooded area known as the Great Park. Two artificial lakes were dug during the 15th and 16th centuries, enhancing the castle’s defences and overall appearance.

Original Layout

Visitors approaching the castle used a drawbridge to access the gatehouse entrance. However, the drawbridge was later replaced with a permanent bridge during the 1500s. To protect this permanent bridge, a half-circle structure was built in front of it.

The curtain wall was built using flint and septarian stone. It stands 10.5 metres (34 ft) tall and is about 2.3 metres (7.5 ft) in thickness. On top of the curtain wall are 13 sandstone towers, each standing approximately 14.3 metres (47 ft) high. At the top of the thick curtain walls is a wall-walk. The curtain wall and its towers were the fortress’s primary defence. It does not contain a keep.

Framlingham Castle’s gate tower boasts a simple 12th-century design. Around the 16th century, the 2nd Duke of Norfolk enhanced it by adding his coat of arms and additional ornamental designs.


After successfully passing through the gate into the castle grounds, visitors would enter the bailey. Here, there were numerous buildings, including a Sergeant’s Chamber, Knights’ Chamber, stable, barns, and an area to store food. A chapel was also built within the bailey.

Inner Court

The Great Hall originally sat on the far end of the inner court. This area was likely used for celebrations and entertainment. It offered spectacular views of the gardens in the lower court and the mere and Great Park just outside the castle.

The inner court also connected the Great Hall with the chapel in the bailey. The Great Hall was later replaced by the Poorhouse in the 17th century. Next to the Poorhouse is the Postern Gate where numerous prisoners walked to enter the prison.

It’s believed there were nearly 30 rooms in the castle, each elaborately decorated with gold and silver plating, intricate tapestries, velvet fabric, and luxury linens.

Lower Court

The lower court boasted a lovely garden. It was overlooked by the Prison Tower and Great Hall. This beautiful area likely included fruit trees, aromatic herbs, vibrant flowers, and fancy water fountains during its heyday. There were also small ponds and decorated walkways which enhanced the lower court’s overall aesthetic.

Modern Layout

The current layout of the castle includes the bailey, inner court, and lower court. The Prison Tower and Postern Gate also still stand today. Visitors accessing the site today enter through the bailey from the car park.

Though the chapel no longer stands, visitors can make out the shape of its structure along the curtain wall.

The Poorhouse now stands where the Great Hall was once built. This building includes three separate areas, including the Red House and Middle Wing. Both of these buildings were renovated in the 19th century. A section of the Great Hall was absorbed by the Poorhouse at the northern end.

Various brick chimneys are seen throughout the inner court. When the castle was in operation, only three of these chimneys were actually functional.

One of the artificial ponds still sits west of the castle. However, the Great Park was torn down to make way for fields and farmland.

The Prison Tower was converted into an area to observe and admire the gardens in the lower court.

Images of Framlingham Castle

Framlingham Castle Framlingham Castle Framlingham Castle Framlingham Castle Framlingham Castle Framlingham Castle
Framlingham Castle Framlingham Castle Framlingham Castle Framlingham Castle Framlingham Castle

Images Supplied and licensed from Shutterstock Standard Licence Package

What Can I See During My Visit to Framlingham Castle?


  • Learn more about the castle. On the upper floor of the workhouse is an exhibit that showcases Framlingham Castle’s history, as well as stories about those who occupied its grounds. These exhibits are kid-friendly and include videos, interactive displays, and games.
  • Observe multiple artefacts. In addition to the interactive displays, the Lanman Trust’s Museum of Local History includes various artefacts dating back to the past 100 years.
  • Talk a stroll along the wall walk. Visitors can climb an old spiral staircase to reach the top of the 10.5 metre (34.4 ft) curtain walls. This leisurely walk boasts spectacular views of the castle grounds, the tranquil artificial mere, and the fields that once served as the Great Park.
  • Explore the mere trail. A 1.2 kilometre (¾ mi) trail surrounds the mere and visitors can walk this path and take in the surrounding scenery. While on the trail, listen for different types of birds and look for colourful butterflies.
  • Grab a used book. Framlingham Castle also boasts a secondhand bookshop on the second floor of the workhouse. Whether you’re looking for a specific title or something new, it’s worth it to take a look. Once you’ve found what you’re looking for, feel free to lounge around the castle grounds as you get lost in your book.


Framlingham Castle Facts


  1. Framlingham Castle visitors and staff share haunting ghost stories. From strange human faces appearing in the windows of the upper levels to the sound of terrified screams, ghost stories about Framlingham Castle aren’t rare. One visitor said he saw a dark silhouette fall from the Prison Tower, whereas many other visitors report a feeling of being followed.
  2. The legend of Bloody Mary originates with one of Framlingham’s former occupants. When Mary Tudor’s brother attempted to crown their cousin, Lady Jane Grey, instead of Mary, she contested this and ultimately won. During her reign, she brought back Catholicism — at a bloody cost. She executed nearly 300 dissenters which earned her the name, “Bloody Mary,” and the association with the popular urban legend.
  3. Framlingham Castle may have been built on an ancient burial ground. Several sources claim that at least 50 Anglo-Saxons are buried under the castle’s entrance. In addition, clay pottery and other artefacts have been found near the castle site, dating back to 650-800 AD. 
  4. The castle served as a sick ward during the Great Plague of London. Framlingham Castle was used as a sick ward to isolate the population suffering from the plague in 1665 and 1666. Unfortunately, the efforts were far too late, as London lost fifteen percent of its entire population to the disease.
  5. Musician, Ed Sheeran, references the castle in a song. Framlingham is the singer’s hometown and he remembers it fondly, even purchasing several properties in the area. He mentions Framlingham Castle in the song, “Castle on the Hill,” released in 2017.

Framlingham Castle Q&A

What is the Framlingham Castle Famous For?

Framlingham Castle is famous for being the site of a grand celebration for Mary Tudor, when the townsfolk proclaimed her as England’s first female monarch. Her brother, Edward, attempted to crown their cousin, Lady Jane Grey, but Mary contested this, claiming she was the rightful heir, and she won.

What Happened at Framlingham Castle?

Many things happened at Framlingham Castle, including a slighting of the first castle ordered by Henry II after he was betrayed by Hugh Bigod. Mary Tudor was proclaimed the first Queen of England at the castle. It also served as a prison and was used as an isolation ward during the Great Plague.

Is Framlingham Worth a Visit?

Framlingham Castle is definitely worth a visit! The castle boasts a history over 900 years long, which visitors can learn about through the audio tours and on-site exhibition. Visitors can also see multiple artefacts, walk along the towering curtain walls, and enjoy a picnic on the castle grounds.

Did Mary Tudor Live at Framlingham Castle?

Mary Tudor spent some time at Framlingham Castle after contesting Lady Jane Grey’s right to the throne. She was summoned to London under the guise of seeing her brother, but she refused knowing she would be captured. She then gathered her people at the castle and was ultimately proclaimed queen.

Location of Framlingham Castle

Framlingham is a small town situated in the county of Suffolk in England. It boasts a population of around 4,000 inhabitants and is the childhood hometown of pop singer, Ed Sheeran.

The town is home to the Church of St. Michael and the smallest house in Britain. Country Life Magazine once voted Framlingham the best town to live in England.

Every Tuesday and Saturday, Framlingham hosts a market in Market Hill. Here, visitors and locals can purchase various produce, desserts, breads, and even meat. The city also hosts an annual sausage festival in the fall.

Other Places To Visit Near Framlingham Castle

Church of St. Michael the Archangel

This beautiful architectural structure dates back to the 12th century. Although it’s undergone some renovations over the centuries, the church still has a historic feel, thanks to its intricate ornamentation of the fan vaulting, a lovely chancel arch, a great tower, and a narrow nave. Inside is a 17th-century organ and various tombs, including the final resting place of the famous Howard family that once occupied Framlingham Castle.

Shawsgate Vineyard

Shawsgate Vineyard is one of the oldest grape vineyards in East Anglia. Visitors can book a tour of the grounds that includes wine and lunch, or opt for a cheese and wine tasting. The facility boasts numerous wine options, including white, red, and rosé, as well as a modest selection of sparkling wines.

Saxtead Green Post Windmill

This English Heritage site dates back to the 13th century and remains a popular landmark in Suffolk. Although Saxtead Green Post Windmill ceased commercial operations in the 1940s, the mill still runs as though it’s in its prime. Visitors can access the various floors of the facility to view the mill and its fascinating inner mechanisms.